Read ReviewVALE
The State Theatre Company of South Australia
Dunstan Playhouse

Drama

Written By: Nicki Bloom
Directed By: Geordie Brookman

Joseph Vale is on top of the world. The self-made head of an eponymous hotel empire, he’s all set to spend New Year’s Eve toasting his successes and celebrating everything he has ever built. Along for the ride is his wife Tina, their newly graduated university educated daughter Isla and her ambitious young boyfriend Angus. Champagne corks pop, egos and ambition collide and the night catches alight with the arrival of an unexpected guest.

From the AWGIE award-winning writer of Little Bird comes this dark-as-pitch comedy with a sting in its tail. Like a collision between the wit of Edward Albee and a modern Greek tragedy, Vale explores ideas of inheritance, ambition, and the way family never loosens its chokehold on anyone. After his powerful turn in Betrayal we welcome back Mark Saturno in the title role alongside State Theatre Company Resident Artist Elena Carapetis and the wonderful James Smith (Volpone, Gorgon).

As Vale twists and turns, one thing becomes clear… this New Year’s Eve there will be fireworks!

Approx. Running Time: 2 hours, 15 minutes (including interval)
Suitable for ages: 18+

Performance Dates:
Previews:
Fri 17 Nov 2017, 8:00 pm
Sat 18 Nov, 8:00 pm
Mon 20 Nov 2017, 6:30 pm

Opening night:
Tue 21 Nov 2017, 8:00 pm

Shows:
Wed 22 Nov 2017, 6:30 pm
Thu 23 Nov 2017, 8:00 pm
Fri 24 Nov 2017, 8:00 pm
Sat 25 Nov 2017, 2:00 pm
Sat 25 Nov 2017, 8:00 pm
Tue 28 Nov 2017, 6:30 pm
Wed 29 Nov 2017, 11:00 am
Wed 29 Nov 2017, 6:30 pm
Thu 30 Nov 2017, 8:00 pm
Fri 1 Dec 2017, 8:00 pm
Sat 2 Dec 2017, 8:00 pm
Sun 3 Dec 2017, 3:00 pm

Venue:
Dunstan Playhouse, Adelaide Festival Centre

Bookings:
statetheatrecompany.com.au/shows/vale
or BASS on 131 246

Pricing:
Tickets from $61.