. Classifieds . Program & Poster Ads . Press Releases . Updates . "Curtain Call" Awards .



The 2017 Gala Dinner & "Curtain Call" Awards Night was another night to remember, with a crowd of around 360 guests from across SA's theatre community gathering together to celebrate theatre and reunite with new and old friends at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre.

The night was hosted by the wonderfully talented Michelle Nightingale, and highlighted some fantastic South Australian theatre talent.

Congratulations are extended to all of the nominees for being recognised for excellence within their respective areas.

In 2017 the "Curtain Call" Awards went to:

The Richard Flynn Award
for Sustained Excellence and Contribution to Theatre in South Australia

Jill Bartlett


Best Show - Comedy/Drama

Mr Burns (State Theatre Company South Australia and Belvoir)

Best Show - Musical/Opera

Rumpelstiltskin (Windmill Theatre Co & State Theatre Company of South Australia)

Best Show - Cabaret

Comfort Food Cabaret (Michelle Pearson)

Best Ensemble

The 39 Steps (State Theatre Company South Australia)

Best Female Performance

Jacqueline Dark (Cavalleria Rusticana & Pagliacci, Opera Australia & State Opera SA)

Best Male Performance

Jeff Lang (Chicago, Emma Knights Productions)

Best Technical

Wendy Todd, Luke Smiles, Chris Petridis & Malcolm McKinnon, Design (Long Tan by Verity Laughton, Brink Productions in association with Adelaide Festival Centre & State Theatre Company)


Best Show - Comedy

The Matchmaker (Independent Theatre)

Best Show - Drama

Forget-Me-Not (The Stirling Players Inc.)

Best Show - Musical

Big Fish (The Therry Dramatic Society Inc.)

Best Show - Youth Theatre

Bring It On: The Musical (Pelican Productions)

Best Ensemble

Violet (Davine Interventionz)

Best Female Performance

Kat Jade (Wicked, Matt Byrne Media)

Best Male Performance

David MacGillivray (Jekyll & Hyde, Marie Clark Musical Theatre)

Best Young Performer

Sean Jackson (Bring It On: The Musical, Pelican Productions)

Best Technical

Jon McKay, Narelle Lee, Anna Grosser & Anastasia Marsden, The Peach (James & The Giant Peach, Hills Youth Theatre)